News & Updates

New Community Care Toll Free Number

Interior Health is making it easier for people living in North Okanagan communities to access home and community care and chronic disease management services.

Seniors and others can now easily connect to health-care services in their community seven days per week, 8 a.m. – 7 p.m. by calling 1-800-707-8550.

Communities in the North Okanagan region are the latest to see the new 1-800 number implemented. The central number has been expanding in phases and with this activation, seniors across the entire Interior Health region can now access this number.

Calling this number will connect people to a central intake office, which will refer callers to appropriate services including the following.

Care management services
• Community nursing, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, dietitian, social work, speech language, and respiratory therapy.
• Support in your home to assist your daily living needs, such as personal care, special exercises, medication assistance and in-home respite.
• Adult day services (personal care services and therapeutic activities in a community setting).
• Eligibility assessment for funded assisted living and long-term care homes.

Palliative care services
• Community nursing.
• Social work.
• Hospice care.

Acquired brain injury services
• Coordination of health services for individuals with brain injury.
• Client-centred services to support individuals with brain injury to maximize their independence in daily living.
• Support and education regarding recovery.

The new 1-800 number does not replace existing contact numbers, including the Interior Health crisis line (1-888-353-2273), hospital or emergency services, or 911.

This phone line has been developed in response to feedback from clients and the public, to make it simpler for people to find and access the services they need.

Similar improvements to access have been initiated for community mental health and substance use with a new single phone line 310-MHSU (6478) that launched in 2021.

The communities included within this expansion to the North Okanagan are Vernon, Armstrong, Enderby, Salmon Arm, Revelstoke, Spallumcheen, Falkland, Lumby, Cherryville, Coldstream, Lavington, Grindrod, Tappen, Blind Bay, Sorrento, Canoe, Sicamous, Malakwa, and Craigellachie.

Share This Article

© 2022 Splatsin

Designed, Developed and Hosted by Sproing Creative